Burn Permits

The fire department issues permits on class 1 and class 2 days or at the discretion of the on duty fire officer.

To check the fire danger visit the site below:
Maine Fire Danger Map

In the Town of Hermon open burning of leaves, grass and brush is permitted after 5 p.m. Burning before 5 p.m. will require a site inspection from a Hermon Fire Department member.  If there is snow cover or it is raining a site inspection may not be required.

If burning on rented property you must obtain written consent from the land owner.

Burn permits are issued at the fire station on week days from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm, at C&K on the weekends or can be obtained online through the Maine Forest Service for a fee of $7.00. Click the link below for an online burn permit:

Maine Online Burn Permit

A burn permit is required by state law.  The materials permitted for burning are restricted.  Before burning or requesting a site inspection make sure your pile doesn’t contain the following materials:

  • Pressure treated or painted wood
  • Plastics
  • Styrofoam
  • Insulation
  • Vinyl siding
  • Rubber
  • Metals
  • Food Waste
  • Chemicals
  • Trash
  • Asphalt Shingles
  • Cardboard
  • Mattresses
  • Furniture
  • Tires
  • Tar
  • Paints
  • Furniture
  • Solvents
  • Sludge
         

 

 

 

 

Please call or come in to receive your burn permit.

Hermon Fire Department (207) 848-5986 or Penobscot County Dispatch (207) 945-4636