Welcome to Hermon!

A great town to live, work or play in the heart of Maine.

Whether you're looking for quiet country roads or a quality constructed home in a residential subdivision, Hermon has it all. Conveniently located just minutes to a major airport, shopping facilities and less than one hour to beautiful Acadia National Park or the pristine Moosehead Lake region, Hermon offers you a great place to call home.

Hermon Announcements & News

Firefighter/EMT Job Opening

The Town of Hermon is accepting applications for the position of Firefighter/EMT.  This position will be the department training coordinator.  The successful applicant shall obtain Paramedic within 36 months of hire.  Currently licensed paramedics are encouraged to apply.


Please submit a cover letter and resume to the Hermon Fire Chief no later than November 7, 2014.  You may submit your questions in writing or through email at

firechief@hermon.net. The Town of Hermon is an Equal Opportunity Employer.


Please submit your completed application to:


Town of Hermon

Att: Chief Pipes

PO Box 6300

Hermon, Me 04401

A full job description, wages, and benefits may be obtained by clicking here. 

Substitute Teachers Needed

If you have interest in becoming a substitute teacher for the Hermon School Department, an application is available at the Superintendent's Office, 31 Billings Road, Tel. 848-4084.  Office hours are 8 am - 4 pm Monday through Friday.


Fingerprinting through the Maine Department of Education, for which there is a fee, is required.  The rate of pay for a substitute is $60/day.


Activity Bus Driver

Hermon School Department
    Activity Bus Driver

Must hold or be eligible for CDL with school bus endorsement
and available for after school sporting events.

Please click here for non teaching application.

Zoning Board of Appeals Openings

The Town of Hermon has two openings for alternate voting members on the zoning board of appeals.   If you are interested, please contact Annette Merrithew at 848-1010 or by email at merrithewa@hermon.net

Fireworks Are Not Allowed In Hermon


The Hermon Town Council recognizes that while the State of Maine has legalized the use of consumer fireworks, they still present a danger of injury and fire.  To enhance the public safety and welfare of its citizens and community the Town Council adopted an ordinance to prohibit use and sale of Consumer fireworks in the Town of Hermon.


No person shall use, possess with the intent to use, sell, possess with the intent to sell or offer for sale consumer fireworks in the Town of Hermon.  This section does not apply to a person issued a fireworks display permit by the State of Maine pursuant to 8 M.R.S.A. 227-A.


Whoever violates this ordinance shall be punished by a fine of up to $1,000.00 plus reasonable attorney and witness fees, plus costs if legal action by the Town of Hermon is required.


Hermon's Legislature Contacts

Governor Paul LePage

Office of the Governor
#1 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0001

Telephone:  207-287-3531
TTY (207) 287-6548
Fax:  207-287-1034

Email:  governor@maine.gov

Senator Geoff Gratwick

Geoffrey Gratwick (D-Penobscot)
District 32
1230 Kenduskeag Ave.
Bangor, ME 04401
(207) 287-1515
Email:  Sengeoff.gratwick@legislature.maine.gov

Representative Roger Reed

Roger Reed(R-Carmel)
District 23
278 Murray Road
Carmel, ME 04419
(207) 848-5136
Email:  RepRoger.Reed@legislature.maine.gov

Chairs of the Transportation Committee

Senator Edward Mazurek
House Representative Charles Theriault

Chairs of the Appropriations and Financial Affairs

Senator Dawn Hill
House Representative Margaret Rotundo

Contact Information for all Senators:

3 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
(207) 287-1540
TTY (207)287-1583

Contact Information for all House Representatives:

2 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
(207) 287-1400
TTY  (207)287-4469

Hermon Announcements & News